MAX31856 Roast Thermometer

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
After playing with the calculations, I am getting down to some experiments and thought it would be best to start a thread on topic.

First project is a model for a solid roast that I can heat at a controlled rate. I wanted a material that is about the density of water, but would not have convection currents. This is my first attempt:

upload_2018-12-28_20-29-7.png

The wood is cedar and the heating pad is a Minco HR5470 that I got a few years back as a freebie. It is about 3" in diameter. My concern is that cedar is pretty light and a good insulator. I will try it anyway. It is easy to put additional TC holes closer to the edge, if needed.

Thinking that theater artists might have developed inexpensive alternatives, I found a link that used aerated plaster of Paris. The artist simply used a high foaming detergent in the water and rapid mixing. Does anyone have experience with models for meat or foamed plaster? I want it to be cheap, so RTV rubbers are probably out of the question.

For this phase of testing, I do not need to go to very high temperatures.

Regards, John

DNA Robotics

Joined Jun 13, 2014
I'm not sure if this is what you are asking for but I have used it to make light weight concrete. It would probably work with plaster. You can get it at a garden shop. Walmart?

"Vermiculite is a soft,spongy material made from super-heating mica. Perlite is a hard, highly porous material made by super-heating volcanic glass. ...Vermiculite affords slightly less aeration than perlite. For plants that thrive growing in a more-wet soil,vermiculite would do well as a potting soil additive."

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
I thought of vermiculite. It used to be used for packaging chemicals and such, but I didn't know where to get it. Garden shop is a good idea. Will check that out today.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
UPDATE