LTSpice solar panel, trouble with bypass diodes

Gustn07

Joined Feb 22, 2024
So, I'm currently trying to simulate a solar panel (datasheet is in attachments) in LTSpice. I posted the screenshots below of my schematics I drew and also put the LTSpice file in attachment. Now the simulation works great without the bypass diodes, but when I implement these bypass diodes the results are much lower. The bypass diodes are just normal diodes but when I use zener diodes the results are even worse, no matter what parameters I give. The parameters of the zener diodes used in the picture are: average forward current = 20A and the breakdown voltage is 30V. I'm no expert with these bypass diodes, so is there anyone who can help me with this problem?

without bypass diodes:
1712494637902.png

with bypass diodes:
1712494790134.png

with zener diodes as bypass diodes:
1712495137895.png

Kind regards

August

Attachments

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
The bypass diodes are shunting the current to ground and you are seeing the forward voltage drop of the three in series.
What is their supposed purpose?

Gustn07

Joined Feb 22, 2024