Low voltage AC power source

dsharp02

Joined Aug 8, 2015
As a beginner I think I've gotten to the point where I want to explore AC circuits. However I don't have an low-voltage AC power source. I don't feel comfortable trying to make my own transformer, so I'd prefer something pre-made, and cheap. Do they make lab bench power-supplies that provide adjustable AC voltage? I have a limited budget, so cheaper is better.

I tried to search the forums but the results pretty much all seemed to be people who already had a source of low-voltage AC.

Thanks for your time.
Dave

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
I use a Variac, connected to the primary of 120V-24V transformer. The Variac allows me to vary the input voltage of the transformer from 0V to ~140V. The step-down transformer provides isolation from the AC line. The transformer serves to limit current in the secondary in the event of a whoops.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Variac's aren't cheap, but they are the definitive answer to dial-a-volt in the AC realm.
Two other approaches include a simple transformer to get one voltage at one frequency or a Signal Generator to get a wide range of frequencies and a little bit of voltage adjustment, like maybe 0 volts to 10 volts p-p.

dsharp02

Joined Aug 8, 2015
Thanks for the responses. Amazon has a variac for $65 USD that looks exactly like the one pictured above. $65 is cheap enough for me. I forgot about signal generators, Elenco seems to have a kit for $33, so I ordered one of those as well.

Thanks again.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Don't forget you can use the Variac to energize a smaller transformer, like a 1 or 2 amp rated 12-0-12 VAC output. That will give you a voltage range that is useful to power transistor hobbies and it's safer to include a low power, isolated transformer when your fingers get near the circuits. (Edit: MikeML already said that.)