Logic gates question...

Thread Starter

jv1597

Joined Nov 15, 2020
8
Hello everyone, I've done some searching but can't find an answer as to what the side nodes on an AND gate are for... Can anyone tell me what they are for? I have attached a diagram for clarification...
Thanks.
 

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
13,083
Welcome to AAC!

According to TI, they don't exist:
clipimage.jpg

Whatever program you're using might use them to indicate power connections, but using circles would be lame.
 

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
1,456
Power & ground. There are many ways to draw a AND gate. Some times the power and ground are shown with the gate and some time power & ground is a separate square block.
1605499318469.png
1605499521516.png
1605499620255.png
1605499705653.png
Here is an example where they put power on one buffer and Ground on another. (6 in one IC)
1605499799352.png
 

Thread Starter

jv1597

Joined Nov 15, 2020
8
I'm using KiCAD for my schematic capture. The logic gates have circular nodes on each side of the logic gates. Even the inverters have them... so I was wondering if they're used for daisy-chaining or for tapping in to the gate at some point.
 

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
13,083
I'm using KiCAD for my schematic capture. The logic gates have circular nodes on each side of the logic gates. Even the inverters have them... so I was wondering if they're used for daisy-chaining or for tapping in to the gate at some point.
Must be power.
 

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
26,398
Power and ground. Different schematic capture packages and also different part libraries deal with power and ground connections differently.
 

Thread Starter

jv1597

Joined Nov 15, 2020
8
Thanks WBahn, I just needed a good idea how to interpret them to things done. Power and ground clarify it really well.
 
Top