LMC/TLC555 based contactless capacitive sensor, built of components, that everybody already has

Skfir

Joined Aug 19, 2010
Hi everyone. Sorry for apparently a sloppy post - I am a pianist, not an engineer and this is my very first submission. So, being a pianist = being poor. Recently I needed a contactless capacitive touch sensor. Of course there are many specific ICs for this purpose, but I decided to make a sensor out of parts, that every hobbyist already had in his toolbox. After some Googling I found out a number of schematics, built on a 555 timer that claimed to be capacitive sensors, but in reality were still old-good resistive ones. So, I decided to design the sensor myself and apparently it works fine.

This sensor can be used not only in order to switch something on and off, but also as a moist sensor, for, say, building an automated plants watering system.