Linear Actuator Control using Encoder

ltoraya

Joined Dec 9, 2021
Hello,

I have just begun working with robotics and engineering and am a complete novice, so please forgive any ignorance or obvious points I should know as I am still learning.

I am working on making sure something a certain distance (25 ft), stops, and will come back to the starting point at the push of a button. Currently the machine is using vision sensors to attempt to stop the product at the correct distance, but the reaction time varies depending on the size and weight of the product. I figured the best way to improve this would be to attach a rotary encoder to one of the rolling wheels in order to better calibrate the distance by turns of the encoder wheel. Is there a way using the rotary encoder to control the motor to go only to the set distance , stop, and eventually return the exact same distance?

Any advice or tips are fully welcome, even if you are pointing out how dumb I am for missing something so obvious. Thank you!

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If point-to-point motion control is not accurate enough, you may want the accurate motion control and positioning, as per CNC precision, then this can be done with either a open loop stepper motor , or true closed loop with a quadrature encoder and PID controlled servo motor.
There is a PC based HMI CNC control, Mach3, that could be used if necessary.
This is a simple step-dir based system, where the loop is closed in the drive.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015