light dimmer using PIC16

naresh5555

Joined Mar 3, 2017
Hi every one I am planing to do light dimmer project . I am new to coding . I completed all hardware portion . Hardware portion includes Zero crossing with with isolation and TRAIC driver (MOC3020). Any one suggest me one example code for the light dimmer .

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Microchip themselves have some app notes on doing this or similar. May not be a dimmer, just on and off, but that is a start.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Microchip AN958 and Fairchild AN-3006.
Microchip have the code for a electronic burst thermostat and a dimmer.
I am working on one of right now.
Max.

naresh5555

Joined Mar 3, 2017
Microchip AN958 and Fairchild AN-3006.
Microchip have the code for a electronic burst thermostat and a dimmer.
I am working on one of right now.
Max.
Hi MaxHeadRoom , Thank you for reply .
I am looking for the code can you suggest me some example code for pic controllers .

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Pay special attention to the Zero-Xing detector, it's the heart of it- and surprisingly hard to get right.

Your code could be perfect, but it will work like crap because the thing creates extra pulses, operates erratically, etc.
It's tricky because it's looking for a very small voltage change around zero, and must also deal with full mains voltage.
The biggest problem usually is extra noise pulses, check it on the scope before making any assumptions.

naresh5555

Joined Mar 3, 2017
Here is a PDF from microchip with C and ASM programs. The circuit didn't use step down transformer power supply so it is only good for reference.

And here is an extensive discussion on AC load control and the AC zero crossing is well explained.

Allen