LiFePO4 battery charging

ivars211

Joined May 5, 2013
Hi, after several hour of googling, I did not find anything suitable (most likely wrong keywords or I am just a noob). There are many charging circuits for Lipo batteries, but almost nothing for LiFePO4 .

Basically, I have this 3 cell battery that I need charger for. If I understand correctly then I have to charge each cell individually with constant current until it reaches 3.65V and then continue with constant voltage of 3.65V.
I found several circuits using LM317, but all of them where designed to charge single cell. Where as some ICs are designed for all 3 cells in series.

So do I have to charge each individual cell or can I just charge them in series? Is there any simple charging circuit that I have not found yet? Btw I would like to use general AC-DC wall plug converter to power up the charging circuit.

Thank a lot.

Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You maybe want to look at one of the RC type Imax multi cell, multi composition type of battery charger, it will also charge (or discharge) to proper storage level.
Max.

ivars211

Joined May 5, 2013
Thanks for your replies.
They do offer some multi-purpose chargers, but I would like to have the charging circuitry inside the enclosure and 12V DC plug coming in to power it, if possible.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I don't know of any a priori reason why the cells need to be charged individually , assuming you can even get them apart. It might come down to getting one of their chargers so you can reverse engineer it. There is all kinds of information on how to build chargers out there, you just have to look for it.

Last edited:

ddurgin

Joined Mar 2, 2011