Lessons for the newbs - Coils.

Coogrrr

Joined Jul 16, 2008
I am fairly new to electronics. I am learning and I love it and all you wizards of the electrons. I will be your student for years to come I am sure. With that I could use a little lesson in coils.....

I want to make some manual powered small devices. I want to give the kids a hand crank power maker to charge cell phones and a couple of AA batteries for game controllers. At least I know they will burn some calories once I make these devices. I know I can buy similar items and well if it was all about that I would just buy a boat load of rechargeable batts. and chargers but hey that is not the goal. The goal is for me to learn and them to earn some power for their devices.

With that I would like to know how to judge the shape/size/number of turns, etc. about coils. Later when I feel much more comfortable I plan to make some coils for a homemade wind generator. So you can see why I am here asking. Being that I don't know what I don't know I may not ask the proper questions during this thread but maybe this will be the first of some basic lessons and knowledge for those who will follow.

With that let me start this thread with coil winding, and lets chat about the basics of how to size one up! I think the initial questions to ask will be....

1. What is a coil
2. What is inductance
3. How to figure out the size / number you may need
4. Selecting materials
5. Methods to wind the coil
6. Wiring the coil AC/DC
7. What to do with the output - rectifying etc.

I hope this thread isn't misplaced and I do look forward to learning and then making some more threads on other subjects like this!

Thanks in advance everyone!
~Coog

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
For the purposes of designing 'electric machines' - electro-mechanical power generating devices - coils plays a small but vital role.
More importantly, you need to understand magnetic design, magnetic flux, magnetic materials and magnetic circuits.