Led not blinking.

lemario

Joined Jan 31, 2016
Hello. This is my first time messing with a microcontroller. I am trying this tutorial:

CIRCUIT: http://postimg.org/image/lasta61k1/
CHIP: 12f683
COMPILER: mikroC PRO for PIC v.6.6.1

I write the program just fine but the led does not work.
I might be doing some stupid mistakes but its my first time so don't shop my head of please.

code:
C:
void main(void) {
      TRISIO.B2 = 0;
      while(1)
      {
              GPIO.B2 = 1;
              Delay_ms(1000);
              GPIO.B2 = 0;
              Delay_ms(1000);
      }
}
Mod edit: added code tags

Last edited by a moderator:

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009
Never mind about the while loop. Of course you have one. I posted that too early in the morning. Too early to think.

You need to set up configuration.

Here is an example from my compiler and my chip. Yours will be different. Your may be very different.

#pragma config FOSC = INTIO67 // Oscillator Selection bits (Internal oscillator block)
#pragma config PLLCFG = OFF // 4X PLL Enable (Oscillator used directly)
#pragma config PRICLKEN = OFF // Primary clock enable bit (Primary clock enabled)
#pragma config FCMEN = OFF // Fail-Safe Clock Monitor Enable bit (Fail-Safe Clock Monitor disabled)
#pragma config IESO = OFF // Internal/External Oscillator Switchover bit (Oscillator Switchover mode disabled)

What it does is give the starting settings for the chip. If you look at the first line it tells the compiler that you want to use the internal oscillator.

You need to look at your datasheet to determine the configuration bits. Some programming environments like MPLab and MPLabX have helper programs to create the configuration bit settings based off your code.

Last edited:

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009