Learning Java vs Python

mnobeidat

Joined Dec 20, 2016
Hi
I started learning Java a couple of months ago, and read some articles about different programming languages.
I found that Ruby and Python are easier and more common than java.
I'm studying electrical engineering, so what language is more useful in this field?

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
There are fanatics for each of those languages you've mentioned. There are interesting differences between them, for which I suggest you use Uncle Google!

But to your question, let's start with Java.

I am not sure about EE, but in the computer field, Java is going the ways of the dinosaurs.

Ruby is a little more popular than Python, but you are missing the most sought after language today.

PHP.

There are many comparisons online, but look at this one.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Is PHP used for much of anything beyond web scripting?

I certainly couldn't imagine writing a circuit simulator in PHP, let alone writing code for an embedded microcontroller or an FPGA.

In general, the more languages you know the better you are able to evaluate their strengths and weakness and thereby make good decisions as to which language is a good (or bad) match for a given application.

The field of electrical engineering uses programming languages in so many different ways that there simply is no way to say which language is most useful -- it is SO highly dependent on what you are trying to do with it at any particular time.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
Over the course of my career I have used so many languages I could not possibly remember them all.

Learn how to program in any language, and learn how to do it well.

It will make learning your next language even easier.

Learn Python, C an C++ in that order.