Landline Phone Music Player

Tiffany Smith

Joined Aug 5, 2019
Hi,
I am looking to play a song via a landline phone. The phone would not be hooked up to phone service, it would just be a music player, like headphones - but instead of putting on headphones you'd pick up the receiver and you would hear a song. Maybe you'd have to press a button first. Anyway, does anyone know if / how this could be done? I am not experienced with electronics, but I want to do this for a gallery show that includes a music element, and am hoping someone could point me in the right direction.
thank you!!!

Tiffany Smith

Joined Aug 5, 2019
Yes, probably. From what phone system did the phone come from?
ooh, I have a couple options. what do you mean by what phone system? I have a couple old rotary dial phones, and would also probably want to use some touchtone corded phones. (ideally I'd get a different song on 6 different phones).

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
If they are similar to the phones installed in homes and offices in the U.S. I can give you an idea. If they are specially designed for a private phone system or not the same type used in the U.S. I don't know whether these comments apply.

For the U.S. style phones made by Western Electric all you need is two wires. Connect the two wires (yes, your phone might have more, but try different combinations until you find the "talking pair"). Connect those two wires to the output of your audio amplifier and you are good to go.

Tiffany Smith

Joined Aug 5, 2019
If they are similar to the phones installed in homes and offices in the U.S. I can give you an idea. If they are specially designed for a private phone system or not the same type used in the U.S. I don't know whether these comments apply.