Connect MP3 to phone landline

linningck1

Joined Jul 6, 2015
Hi,
I am new so first I wanted to say Hi to everybody.
I am a beginner and i would like to connect my mp3 between handset and phone of a landline phone.
The purpose is to play mp3 to play sound to the people I am in phone discussion with.
We still need to talk when the music is not playing.
For this purpose, in parallel, between handset and phone I would like to put a circuit.
But, how the circuit should be made ?
I saw many different circuit.
Any one can help ?

Thanks

linningck1

Joined Jul 6, 2015
Hi Analog kid.
Yes, it is.
Two points of view will maybe make things move faster :)
By the way, have you seen my reply ?
Which circuit are you talking about ? which one do you want me to modify ?
:)

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
You have two problems
  1. AC couple the audio signal at the proper impedance
  2. Avoid toasting your MP3 dur to the application of -48 VDC
Oh and the bandwidth is limited to a bit less than 3 kHz, so don't expect hi-fidelity sound reproduction.
It would also be good to figure out how to make the connction without the phone company knowing what you are doing. If they catch you it can result in some serious legal problems.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
What you are describing is a lot like what used to be called a "phone patch". I don't know whether this ebay link will work, and if it doesn't you can go to ebay and search for "phone patch"
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Heathkit-HD...442?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27f93c84a2

Here is a Google search that might help: http://lmgtfy.com/?q=phone+patch+circuit

In the United States one should use a registered Data Access Arrangement (DAA). I think this is a legal requirement. Cermetek has been making them for decades.
http://www.cermetek.com/Catalog/Telephone-Line-Interface/

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
I did this way back when, not hard at all.today you even have the interwebs for backup.