Just Want To Get off The Ground Power Supply

The Floating Brain

Joined Mar 7, 2018
Hello, second post, sorry its so quick after the first.

I really don't know much about what I am doing, I am new at this, and I really just want to get my project off the ground.
I have been struggling for about a week. I want to hook up some SBC's to wall power and give it a consistent 3.3VDC.
I have a wall wart which seems to output about 5VDC that but it also seems to output 10 ~ 13 VAC. I tested a battery (restarting the DMM) and
I get ~3.3 VDC as well as 5 ~ 6 VAC. I'm very confused, my control of 2 AA batteries should not output any VAC. Should I ignore this?
I don't understand why I just cant just hook up some resistors to my wall wart and plug it directly into my SBCs. I have an old
computer PSU, to get things going, would it just be easier to do that? I read somewhere on the EE stack exchange that
some old volt meters can output double VAC when working with DC which seems somewhat approximate to what I am experiencing
(my DMM is a CEN - TECH 98025 https://www.harborfreight.com/7-function-multimeter-98025.html ).

Any help to this n00b is very appreciated >_<

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
How do you mean it outputs 5VDC and 10...ACV?
Are you just measuring it on the DC and then AC range?

Don't run your SBC until you have a good power supply. working to avoid smoke.
More details....
What is the SBC you are wanting to use?
The current needed?
What is the power supply?
Can you post a picture?
Details, details! It is really hard to help with such vague questions.

The Floating Brain

Joined Mar 7, 2018
Thank you for the reply! Yes I am measuring it in the dc then AC range.

SBC: Onion Omega 2
Current: 500 ~ 2000 mA I think should be fine
Power Supply: Control: 2 AA batteries in series, One I am trying to use: Wall Wart (see image below)

Sorry about that Il try to learn what types of info people in EE ask for :)

spinnaker

Joined Oct 29, 2009