Is this a suitable speed controller for a 2.94A blower fan connected to a battery?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Crap Elite, Feb 12, 2018.

1. Crap Elite

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 12, 2018
    Hi guys,

I am a noob when it comes to electronics so I am seeking help from the experts here.

I have a Delta BFB1012EH PWM blower 1U 2U server dedicated turbofan 9733 97x97x33mm 9.7cm 12V 2.94A which has 4 cables (red black blue yellow) connected to a DC 12V 3000mAh Li-ion Super Rechargeable Battery Pack and running well but its a little too loud and fast.

I want to dial back the speed and am thinking of this controller.(WALFRONT PWM DC 6-28V 3A Motor Speed Controller Regulator Adjustable Variable Speed Control Switch Fan DC Motor Governor Tools)
    Description:
    This DC Motor Speed Controller allows controlling the direction of a DC motor using a Pulse-- Width-Modulated (PWM) DC voltage with a Duty Cycle fully adjustable from 0%-100%.
    The motor speed controller can easily provide a continuous current of 3A to your DC motor or other DC load.
    Main technical parameters:
    - Input supply voltage:6V-28VDC
    - The maximum output power: 80W
    - The maximum continuous output current :3A
    - Duty Cycle adjustable:5%-100%

-Size: (L*W) 5cm*3.2cm

Quantity:1PC

Operating instruction:
    1. Connect your DC motor (or DC load) to the motor terminals as indicated on the wiring diagram.
    2. Connect a voltage of 10V-36V DC to the circuit making sure of the correct polarity of the connection. Note that the voltage applied to the motor will be supply voltage applied to the circuit. It is recommended to add an appropriately rated fuse inline with the positive supply in order to protect the circuit from any possible short circuits.
    3. You can now control the speed of the motor through potentiometer.
    Package included:
    1 x DC 6V - 28V 3A PWM Motor Speed Variable Regulator Controller Switch