Identifying the elements of a feedback network

stefan_mihai

Joined Apr 24, 2017
Hello,

I am studying Electronics in Romania and I have a LOT of trouble identifying the resistive elements that are part of a Negative Feedback Network, when given a circuit. I have a test in a few days and, for the life of me, I can't figure this out every time (I can, for the more obvious circuits).

So, for example, I have attached a kind of circuit that will most likely appear on the test. If I knew the resistors that are part of the feedback network, I would be able to tell what the feedback topology is.

Could anyone tell me which is the feedback network for my example and why? And also some tips on how to identify them?

circuit.PNG

Note: I had another test a few days ago and I added an extra resistance to the feedback network, so I'm really trash at this, for now.

Last edited by a moderator:

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Could anyone tell me which is the feedback network for my example and why?
The reason you are having difficulty is because that circuit does not have a feedback network.
It is operating open loop.
It consists of a differential input stage driving a emitter-follower output.

Negative feedback occurs when the output voltage of a stage or the amp affects the input voltage such as to reduce the gain of the circuit.
It also helps reduce any difference between the input and output waveform (distortion)

Here's a discussion of a transistor circuit with negative feedback which may give you some insight.

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hello,

Well there is feedback it's just not as apparent as it is when there is a separate resistor used just for feedback when there are already other resistors.