IC Design industry weakness

aakraz

Joined Sep 9, 2017
Hi, guys i'm new to this industry and am having difficulty identifying the weakness of being an IC design service provider company. I have just joined an IC design service company. As a prerequisite to securing the position as a key account manager in this company is to write a business report, and im finding it difficult to identify the weaknesses of being an "IC Design company". It's not so difficult to find the weaknesses of Integrated circuits as a whole but when it comes to just the design, Google is less than helpful. Can anyone here please help me? Any help is much appreciated. Thanks :)

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
I would think one weakness is that you are in competition with the in-house design teams of the big manufacturers of ICs. They have insider knowledge of proprietary manufacturing processes.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Welcome to AAC!
I would think one weakness is that you are in competition with the in-house design teams of the big manufacturers of ICs. They have insider knowledge of proprietary manufacturing processes.