question about hobby and industry electronics design

hunterage2000

Joined May 2, 2010
Hi, has anyone out there ever worked as an electronics design engineer in industry? I am a hobbyist electronics designer and I would like to know the life cycle of a project from start to finish and what software analysis tools are used i.e distortion, noise, Fourier etc.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
You need to narrow things down a lot. The life cycle that a project goes through is highly variable and depends on all kinds of factors, some of them technical, some of them legal, some of them specific to a company or industry segment. Similarly, the software tools that are used vary widely. Someone designing a computer motherboard is not going to be using the same tools as someone designing a high-end audio system and those will be very different from soneone designing a high speed data acquisition system or a radar system or an infrared imaging system.

So try to narrow down your request. Also, indicate if you are primarily interested in the technical tools that are used, or in the project phases and management stuff.

hunterage2000

Joined May 2, 2010
yeah, I'm looking for a standard procedure that is common to all areas of electronics. The main areas I design in is instrumentation and measurement systems i.e transducers, signal conditioning, ADC, DAC etc and a lot of stuff with motor-based microcontroller circuits.

I have a degree in electronic engineering but at uni we never actually got told about how an electronics engineer goes about designing and analyzing a project.

I'm interested in both the technical and project phase stuff, I just need some kind of order to my designing and what kind of results I should be showing on paper.

hunterage2000

Joined May 2, 2010
No neither, I'm just a hobbyist with an electronics degree. My uni never went into how an engineer in industry goes about designing a circuit in stages or what kind of analysis should go into a technical report.