IC 4093 blowing up with error using Yenka

northgork

Joined Nov 27, 2016
Hello All
I am a novice at this and I just built a door alarm using a kit. This is the kit schematic:

door-alarm-schematic.png

I built it and it works fine, but I want to analyze the circuit using sim software (Yenka). So this is the sim version I did:
yenka-door-alarm.png

When I close the first switch (S1) in the sim above the alarm sounds but IC1d and IC1a blow up (they are pins on an IC4093). The error I get is:
error.png

I don't know what I am missing here. I have checked the circuit and cannot see the problem. The only odd thing is that the kit schematic requires a BC328 PNP transistor shown as Q1. The sim software doesn't have a BC328 transistor so I selected a BC178 and changed the ratings to match what I think mimics the BC328:

transistor.png

So could this be the problem, being that the sim software does not have the required transistor. Or, if the ratings I used on the BC178 actually do the same as a BC328 then I am completely lost as to why IC1d and IC1a blow up.

If it is the transistor these are the only choices the sim software provides for PNP transistors:

pnp-transistor-choices.png

They seem to be a limited set of choices but I assume you can modify the ratings to get the desired transistor, but I am only guessing.

Any help appreciated. Is it how I have setup the transistor, or is there another problem in the sim circuit?

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

How did you define the supply voltage of the 4093?
(are the supply connections made).
Better use the ztx1151a for the bc328. it matches the specs better.

Bertus

northgork

Joined Nov 27, 2016
Hi Bertus, still blows up with a ztx1151a.

The sim does not let me set the supply voltage so I assume that the circuit so supposed bring it down to 1 V.