I want to re-build this simple circuit board

mangotango

Joined Dec 8, 2023
Hi all. I'm a novice who tinkers with electronics to try to get broken things to work again. I don't like throwing away an otherwise great device because a few $.05 components burned out. I have no formal (or informal, for that matter) training in electrical engineering, but I have a long track record of figuring out where problems are and fixing them. I've successfully re-capped hi-fi speaker crossovers, re-wired entire rooms, replaced computer components, etc.

So, I recently acquired a vintage Excalibur food dehydrator. The previous owner said it needed a new thermal fuse. I went to the company's website and confirmed that those were a thing and that I could still find replacements, so I went ahead and bought it from him for $20.

I purchased the appliance and ordered a replacement part, and when it arrived, I replaced it. However, the heating coil still didn't heat up. I have a multimeter, and I'm handy enough with it that I can usually figure out how to identify a short or failed circuit.

After taking apart the unit, I looked for obvious signs of problems. I immediately noticed a discolored resistor and assumed that was it. I checked it with my multimeter and could not get a reading. I desoldered it and looked it over; it was very brown and cracked. I assumed this was the problem.

I live in a rural area and don't have access to replacement electronics (no Radio Shack for hundreds of miles), so I identified (I think) the resistor I needed from the four color bands. It's either 10k Ohms 5% or 10k Ohms 0.5%. (I can't tell for sure from the fourth color, which I can't tell if it's green or gold). Either way, I ordered an assortment of resistors from Amazon. (should arrive next week).