I have more LEDs than voltage to run them at 100%, is that a big deal?

redoleary

Joined Nov 29, 2017
First post here, and I'm new to making circuits of any kind. Attached is my proposed circuit I have 9v to a spst swx then a 50 Ω resistor, 5 -2v 20mA LEDs another 50Ω resistor to ground. I don't believe the resistors are helping me because even without them I have a 10V drop across all 5 LEDs but only 9V avail. In real life the LEDs will light up just not at 100% which is fine but my question is how hard of a hit does the battery take when the load is beyond its capability? Should I take out the resistors? Size is an issue so adding a larger power supply is not an option unless a 12V A23 battery will do the job but from what I've read they don't seem to have much capacity. Any help would be appreciated.

temp.png

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Firstly, why are you using two resistors, one before and one after the five LEDs?
The current doesn't care where you put the resistors. The current still has to go through both resistors.
One 100Ω resistor is the same as two 50Ω resistors placed in series with the LEDs.

Connect the circuit with the two 50Ω resistors. Measure the voltage across one of the resistors. Observe the brightness of the LEDs.

Remove one of the resistors and repeat the above measurement and observation.

Remove both resistors and observer the brightness of the LEDs.

Welcome to AAC!

joewales44

Joined Oct 8, 2017
they may not turn on.
look at their datasheet for voltage/current graph.
i would use 4 LEDs per string.
or if you must use 5 LEDs, divide them in strings of 3 and 2 or 4 and 1 with appropriate resistors.

redoleary

Joined Nov 29, 2017
Firstly, why are you using two resistors, one before and one after the five LEDs?
The current doesn't care where you put the resistors. The current still has to go through both resistors.
One 100Ω resistor is the same as two 50Ω resistors placed in series with the LEDs.