How to write a driver in C for an IC

nikolakisant03

Joined Oct 21, 2012
Hi everyone,

I want to try to write a driver for this battery fuel gauge. This is my first attempt of writing a driver and it seems like a great opportunity to learn many things through the procedure.
As I mentioned, I've never written a driver before and I want to know If there are any general rules or guides or steps (from where to start and where to finish) that I should follow. There are some general information that I should gather before starting? What I know so far, is that the communication protocol will be the I2C and I will write in C :)

Thanks in advance
Nick

402DF855

Joined Feb 9, 2013
Also, determine which functions of the sensor are important to you. I'd probably start by getting code to read temperature and voltage, and then be able to write the control word.

nikolakisant03

Joined Oct 21, 2012
Yes, I am using the nRF52840 dev, board for the prototyping

Do you intend to run Linux on the board? What features of the sensor are you interested in?
No, I don't
At the moment I want to measure the basics: battery voltage, remaining capacity, average current & power, state of charge and state of health

What is a driver?
A piece of code that will include all definitions and functions in order to read and write information from the peripheral (bq27421 in my case). Maybe the word "driver" is wrong? Maybe it's better the word "library"? In any case, you understood what I want to achieve :)

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
you understood what I want to achieve
No he didn’t, nor did I. A driver on Windows or linux is a very specific thing and quite different from what you are apparently talking about.

I believe what you are asking is how to communicate with a particular chip on a particular microcontroller.

Bob

nikolakisant03

Joined Oct 21, 2012
No he didn’t, nor did I. A driver on Windows or linux is a very specific thing and quite different from what you are apparently talking about.