How to use 25 amps ammeter?

MoberkBleich

Joined Mar 21, 2020
Hi,

I am doing a computer vision project that reads analog meters. I have analog ammeter, which has a max value of 25 amps (60 mV). I just need to make the pointer move, but not sure, how to do it (connect it) effectively, because of the current scale is that big.

So can you tell me, what do I need (and be safe)? I am sorry, this may be stupid question, but I'm a programmer :D.

ana_den1.png

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Most meter movements will respond to microamps.
I can see 15mA printed on the scale. I don't know if this means anything.
In any case, if you are allowed to modify/destroy the meter, you can open the meter and remove the shut resistor that is in parallel with the meter. Then put a large resistance (10k-100kΩ) in series with the meter connections. Experiment until you get the desired deflection.

MoberkBleich

Joined Mar 21, 2020
In that case you will have to find another meter with lower FSD (full scale deflection) current or voltage.
Would it be possible to take 18V battery and really small load (for example 1 ohm rezistor/shunt) and connect it in series with ammeter?

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
If you have a 1k resistor, connect the meter to an AA battery with the 1k in series. If the pointer doesn't move then the shunt is internal and you will have to either pass 25A through the meter or dismantle the meter to remove the shunt.

MoberkBleich

Joined Mar 21, 2020
If you have a 1k resistor, connect the meter to an AA battery with the 1k in series. If the pointer doesn't move then the shunt is internal and you will have to either pass 25A through the meter or dismantle the meter to remove the shunt.
I have bunch of 4.7k, so i will connect them in parallel and I will see :)

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015