How to regulate temperature of AC heating element

alchemizt

Joined Mar 23, 2021
I want to make a hotplate for controlling temperature of liquids. I
got this 2000W 220V - 50V AC SCR triac voltage regulator circuit (see photo attached), I can use it to manually control the AC input of a kettle heating element and all kinds of AC heating appliances.

Step 2 is to have a temperature probe which will detect when the liquid (or sand bath) is at a certain temperature, then cut off the heat in order to maintain that temperature. I'm new to electronics so not sure how to do this.

So I know that a thermocouple is used to measure temperature, I can submerge it in the liquid, and it will know when say 90C is reached. What do I connect the thermocouple to? I read about this MAX 6675 IC which interprets signals from thermocouple sensors, its a module for arduino I think.

I read about PID controllers but thats too advanced for what I need right now, a little later down the line Ill move onto PID controllers but for now all I need is a way to cut the current when the temperature reaches a certain point. Would I just plug the thermocouple into an arduino nano chip and write a program for arduino to turn a switch on and off at different points?

Attachments

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
You do not need a thermocouple to control the temperature of a heater element, the SCR controller should be able to adjust the power into the heater element and thus adjust the amount of heat delivered. That part is simple and fairly easy to do. But the feedback for that sort of system will be the user adjusting the heat input while observing the temperature. The user is part of the feedback loop in that arrangement.