How to not die learning about high voltage tube audio amplifiers?

Dolmetscher007

Joined Mar 21, 2019
I would very much like to learn to design and build my own audio power-supply/pre-amp/power-amp... a P.A. System. I am a musician, and I have always been very interested in learning how tube amps work (both guitar, and P.A.'s). Now, I find myself in a situation where I really need a new P.A. I have the money to buy a P.A., but I'd really like to build one myself.

I have found what seems like a really cool 1,000 watt audio amplifier project online. However, as I read about it... and actually as I read about any amplifier project, they all always say the same thing. They say something to the effect of, "Do not attempt to work on this project unless you are highly experienced with high voltage electronics, as this thing can and will kill you." I do not at all doubt it. Unfortunately, however, none of the website/forums/schematics/etc. that warn about killing yourself unless you are experienced with these things, never give any tips or advice on where or how I can learn exactly what not to touch.

Do any of you guys know of a resource that specifically addresses audio amplifiers and how not to kill yourself?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
This a real hazard to one's health. Please take this advice very seriously.

I was once working on a tube amp. The power was off and the cord was unplugged. The highest voltage while power was on was 350V.
I can tell you that I don't know with what I came into contact. All I know is that I was flung across the room still sitting on the chair. I lived to tell this story.

You have learn to walk before you can run. Begin with learning how low voltage circuits work (under 30V) before moving up the voltage scale.

And the number one rule when working with high voltages is you keep one hand in your pocket. This is not a joke.

Picbuster

Joined Dec 2, 2013