How to know what salary to ask for

jaydnul

Joined Apr 2, 2015
In some places I find the entry level salary for an electronics engineer (including the salaries for the particular company I'm looking at) as 90k-115k, which seems way high. Other places tell me the average is 65k. I don't want to be too specific about where I might be working, but what is the most sure way to figure out what salary you should ask for?

I have a bachelor's degree, 2 courses into my masters degree and have <1 year of work experience. It is an entry level position.

Thanks!

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
It depends on the locatioin -housing costs are a big factor, the company, and how much you are worth on the market. Large companies try to rank their engineers to minimize large skills vs pay disparities and you will be ranked according to your performance, experience, and education. If you can find them, ask people with your level of experience and education about salaries at their respective companies. You can also look for salary surveys and online articles on the subject.

As a last resort (just kidding) you can ask a head hunter working in your field for advice.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
In some places I find the entry level salary for an electronics engineer (including the salaries for the particular company I'm looking at) as 90k-115k, which seems way high. Other places tell me the average is 65k.
As Dick mentioned, it depends on location, company, degree specialization, etc. Even in high cost areas, the geographical differential is sometimes only 5%. Being able to buy a house in a high cost area would require multiple (good) salaries in a household.

In general, no inexperienced BSEE is going to get $100k; it will be closer to $50k.

JoeJester

Joined Apr 26, 2005