high voltage LED indicator

cobol__

Joined Sep 4, 2023
So I am currently trying to make a simple LED circut to indicate the charge of a capacitor. I want to have a green LED to indicate the charge is at ~90Vdc and when its under 90V it turns off and a red led turns on, and if possible have a seperate battery to drive the LED's instead of the capacitor, is there any relatively simple way to do this?

So far i thought maybe I could lower the voltage using a resistor to lower the voltage to ~12v and use a form c relay but im not quite sure if it would work.
Screenshot 2024-01-18 203442.png
I'm very new to electronics (I only know up to grade 11 circuitry) so any clarifications on how i could go about this would be greatly appreciated!

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Your relay circuit is going to discharge the capacitor. Is that a problem?
Try a 48V coil relay in series with a 47V zener diode. That will switch on around 85V and off at about 60V.
You could also use an opto-isolator, but that wouldn't conveniently give you two LED outputs.
There are better electronic ways to do this, but they are not as simple.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

As @Ian0 points out, the coil of the relay will discharge the capacitor. The general approach to this sort of problem that does require more effort is to use a voltage comparator. A comparator takes two inputs a candidate voltage to test and a reference voltage—to test the candidate voltage against.

When the candidate voltage is greater than the reference the output of the comparator is (logically) high, when it is less the output goes low. This can be used, through appropriate circuitry, to do whatever you want. It’s not a very difficult circuit, and surely there are many people here who would be happy to work out an appropriate version for you.

It has the additional advantage of offering different levels of sophistication including the ability to make it easily adjustable so it behaves exactly the way you want.