Help with high current PS?

TSOMB

Joined Jul 31, 2014
Hi folks, im looking to make a 50A 4vdc supply in which I can control the current via trimmer. I plan on using a hand wound transformer and the only thing im stuck on is the current regulation. I typically have used the NPN BD437 but that is only good to 4A. I went in my parts drawer and found some steel case transistors but they are all too high of a working voltage.

So my question is this, which transistor would best suit my application, as well I need the ability to parallel the outputs. Im still new to electronics so please be gentle lol.

Thanks!

*edit I just came across 4 IRF130 rated 14A each, will these work?

Last edited:

b1u3sf4n09

Joined May 23, 2014
You can use something like AO4576. You would want at least 4 in parallel, so I don't know how realistic that is for your available space. Also, if you go this route, make sure to use low resistance, high wattage resistors on the outputs to ensure equal current loading on each transistor.

You may be able to get away with using something like PSMN3R0-30YL,115. That is a lot of current for 1 transistor to pass, so I would say tread with caution if this is the path you choose to take. Dedicated heat sink for the power transistor would be a given.

TSOMB

Joined Jul 31, 2014
Thanks for the suggestions, though I have one other question... The load will be running between 2 ~ 4vdc when at full current, do the transistors posted above have any issue with minimum voltage out? Also what kind of voltage drop would be expected (if any) I looked at the datasheets but couldnt find that info which im sure is there. I plan on winding the transformer so that there is not too much surplus voltage to keep the heat as low as possible.