Help for clap switch

Dzoro

Joined Feb 1, 2019
36we7.gifthis is the circuit that i built but the michropmhone sensitivity is too small do anyone know how to increase the sensituvity beacose i need to clap too close to the microphone so it can work and i want to be able to work at least 3m away if its possible.
I thinked that if i use another transistor in series can help but that didn't change even so sligthly.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Is it a condenser mic or an electret? I suspect electret.
Connect the mic to an amplifier and the output of the amplifier to Q1.
Search your favourite engine for electret mic amplifier. There will be lots.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Yes i use electret mic but can you send some good amplifiers beacose you know better
I am no expert at designing audio amplifiers. I would just be looking at stuff on WWW and guessing which would work best.
You might also search for clap switch designs and compare them with the circuit above.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
I looked at many clap circuits in Google and many of them will not work or work poorly like yours.

1) The electret mic does not get enough current and voltage. Lookup its spec's. Current= 0.5mA. Voltage= typically a few but 2V minimum. Then the resistor at the mic should be (9V - 4V)/0.5mA= 10k, but not feeding current to the transistor.
2) The transistor is biased like I was taught to never bias like that. Since a transistor has a wide range of DC hFE and has no negative feedback then many will be cutoff and many others will be saturated. The transistor needs an emitter resistor for DC negative feedback and its base should be biased with two resistors as a voltage divider. It will have lots of AC gain when its emitter resistor is biased with a capacitor. The DC base voltage should be separated from the DC mic voltage with a coupling capacitor.
3) The pin 2 of the 555 needs a pullup resistor of about 22k and a coupling capacitor from the collector of the transistor.