help designing pwm motor contoller circuit

Jakesandk

Joined Jan 1, 2017
Let me start off by saying. This is my first post on this site, forgive me if i am posting in the wrong category. I am not an electrical engineer. I am an electrician. However, i do have an extensive understanding of electrical theory compared to others in my trade.
Continuing on, for christmas this year, I built my children each a power wheels buggy. Basically from scratch, the only thing "power wheels" is the plastic body No ordinary power wheels, these were designed to be able to ride alongside atvs for extended periods of time, efficiently, without getting stuck on every bump/log/mud hole along the way.

After many sleepless nights, they do function flawlessly (mechanically anyway) as intended, however, i am finding myself in need of a motor controller that can supply more current. Everything is fine except for one really steep hill behind our house ( i mean really steep. 8% grade for about 80 yards.) When the kids go up the hill in the buggys, they can make it almost all the way to the top, but by the time they reach the crest, the controllers i have now are cooking. I havent completely fried one yet, but i know the days are numbered.

From the research I have done, I have concluded that without spending a substantial sum of money, you cant really buy a suitable pwm controller that can withstand the lower rpm/higher current abuse that these motors are going to be forced to take.

As everything is right now:
24v 500w dc brushed scooter motors
24v 500w PWM scooter motor controllers
18:1 3 stage gear reductions

My questions are as follows:
Am i better off spending a couple hundred dollars on 1000w scooter controllers, or building/modifying one of my own?
Can i modify the controllers i have now to handle more current?(im assuming by upgrading the mosfets)
Any available circuits for this amount of current that i could duplicate?