help choosing solid state relay

mobydick

Joined Nov 19, 2010
Hello
I have an old DC motor that used to drive Tension Test machine
The motor is 150V 4.5KW
The block diagram for motor driver :
block diagram.png
My problem is the motor rotates too fast .
I have done some googling and I get that the best way to lower the voltage is to use solid state relay before the rectifier
I have never used one before and There is lots of types for specific uses (inductive loads, capacitive loads…) and lots of control methods(zero crossing, random turn on,….) and I got confused.

Any recommendations will be appreciated

Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
If using a motor on rectified DC you do not need the Cap, Especially using 3ph rectifier where the % ripple is less than 5%.
This will lower your peak DC.
An off the shelf SSR generally switches on/off, not variable.
Another alternative is a 3ph SCR bridge control.
Max.

Last edited:

mobydick

Joined Nov 19, 2010
the capacitor is already installed
i want to lower the DC voltage even more
so there is no off the shelve phase control SSR
is bossible to make one

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
What % of the current rpm limit are you looking for?
The 3ph SCR SSR circuit is one way or a couple of Buck/Boost transformers on two of the transformer outputs.
Another possibility is to reduce the secondaries by taking equal turns off of each.
Max.

mobydick

Joined Nov 19, 2010
i have never dealt with big motors like this ,so i have no idea what is the current rpm limit
adding extra transformer will be too expensive
i want to cut rpm to half or may be more so i need to remove a lot of turns
adding external component will be the easiest solution

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I assumed automatically it was a P.M. field, it would not be a wound field by any chance?
Especially in that size of motor?
If it was, there is a simple answer.
Max.

ian field

Joined Oct 27, 2012
the capacitor is already installed