Has any one on this site has their design mass produced?

Jontyleff

Joined Feb 17, 2019
Once a tried and tested circuit board project is completed is there anyone here who has taken their design forward to mass production or at least production in the hundreds of units?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I haven't personally taken a design to mass production, but I've designed chips that became mass produced.

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
I have no design experience, but I have brought a few projects into self mass production. It can be a real expensive disaster if you don't set it up right. This is USA production under capitalism.

Before doing anything, the prototype has to be electronically and environmentally tested. After all tests and changes are made.....very accurate specs must be documented and agreed upon. All aspects of production use the specs for reference.

Next, you need a list of reliable venders. Including specialty venders....for circuit boards, wiring harness and cabinets/panels/fixture hardware. From there.....you call in person and ask for bids, including stock availability and lead time for all components, circuits boards, and all misc. hardware in 1000 lot units. I had a list of 1000 and I wished I would have copied it more than once. It is amazing what competition can do.

You get at a minimum of 3 vender bids, samples, and all vender capabilities....... for every itty bitty part.

Test and cull samples, request more bids if necessary. By this time.....you should have a read on which venders will accommodate you. Always use the phone. It's much more informative than email.

Reliability and quality are more important than lead time. ALWAYS have backup venders. Shit will happen somewhere. 3 verified vender's info and capabilities are added under each component spec for production reference. Even a machine screw. Doc everything. The "new guy" can order components if necessary.