Getting Started with Arduino

cxshermansg

Joined Sep 1, 2017
Hey guys, this is my very first post. I have been very fascinated with electrical and electronics for years even though I am actually a trained Software Engineer by profession. But with the passion in computing, and in recent years IoT, I am finally getting my opportunity for a hands-on on Arduino. I do like the idea of adding Arduino Engineering into my arsenal of skills, but I am a little concerned about how much background knowledge I will need in electrical circuits and electronics in general. I have watched a couple of online tutorials and read the first few chapters of some introductory texts, but I am still feeling a little overwhelmed, or worried it's not enough.

Just for getting started, can someone help to provide some tips and advice? Point me in the right direction. I have on-hand an Arduino-related project which gives me an opportunity to put my passion into actual experience.

I really appreciate the advice and tips in advance.

OBW0549

Joined Mar 2, 2015
I do like the idea of adding Arduino Engineering into my arsenal of skills...
I've never heard the term "Arduino Engineering" until now. Can you get a degree in it?

Just for getting started, can someone help to provide some tips and advice? Point me in the right direction.
Arduino has its own set of forums where all things Arduino can be discussed: http://forum.arduino.cc/

philba

Joined Aug 17, 2017