Geared motor assistance..

RussellCart

Joined Jun 3, 2019
Good afternoon,

So I am currently new to electronics but not new to coding.
I am building a simple robot - you know, the little ones you always see on instuctables.

I am using an arduino, and 2 yellow small geared hobby motors (3 - 6v). I use a 9v battery to power the arduino and I use 4 AA 1.5v batteries to power the 2 motors through a L298 motor controller.

Apparently the motor specs are - (RPM - 100 @ 3V... 200 @ 5V... 250 @ 6V) and (150mA @ 3V... 170mA @ 5V... 170mA @ 6V) but the motors are spinning crazy slow, maybe 1 rotation every 3 seconds.

I understand the L298 takes 2 volts, then that leaves 4 volts for the motors.

If anyone has any advice or tips I would appreciate it very much as it would help me progress my basic knowledge.

drc_567

Joined Dec 29, 2008
... another thought, not controller related ... probably approaching some kind of forum word limit:

... A typical motor produces power ... a unit defined as work per unit time, as in something like foot-pounds per second, or newton-meters per second in the metric system. In one sense, a motor is a type of converter. It converts electrical input power to an output of mechanical power. Moreover, the mathematical definition of motor power is precisely
P= T*ω
where P= motor power in ft.-lb/sec, T= torque in ft.-lb, and ω= rotational speed In radians/second, or RPM, as long as you keep the units consistent. The motor performance may be simply graphed as a line with a negative slope, extending from a point called the stall torque, at zero speed, to the point called no load speed (free-running), which is the maximum RPM.