Fuse voltage drops

Luv2Learn

Joined Dec 6, 2014
I am new to fuses and am trying to decipher what I have read online.

1. Is it true that a fuse in a noncomputerized circuit will have no voltage drop?

2. Can a 2 volt drop be normal in a 25 volt circuit (assuming it's computerized).

3. If 2 volts is too high of a voltage drop, is that always an indication of a parasitic draw? in other words, is a parasitic draw the ONLY way voltage drops on fuses become too high?

4. How does a parasitic draw occur? Does that mean an electronic component is allowing current to leak to ground? or to another circuit?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Deb

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
A fuse is just a low value resistor that will open when the current going through it causes enough I^2×R power dissipation in the fuse element to melt the element.
That has nothing to do with whether the circuit is computerized or not.
The voltage drop across a fuse is generally low and depends upon the fuse rating. A lower current rated fuse has a higher resistance. This resistance is usually stated in the data sheet for the particular fuse you are using.

Where is the 2 volt drop occurring? That's too high for a fuse carrying its rated current.

I don't understand what a parasitic draw as related to your question. Where did you read about that?

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Hi Luv2Learn,

Not sure what you mean by computerized vs noncomputerized circuits. Voltage drop is voltage drop regardless of whether it's a linear or analog circuit.

Fuses are usually in series with the line voltage, so drops of a volt or two out of 120 or 240VAC are insignificant. I've seen low current fuses, like 0.125A, that had resistors in them. If a fuse like that was put on the output of a low voltage supply, the drop could be a problem; but not a typical application. Fuses protect things from bursting into flames; they're not really to protect circuits from damage.

Last edited:

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010