Equation to find a absolute value of the sine wave at any given angle

cts_casemod

Joined May 14, 2013
Hi folks,

I am studying phase angle control and I need to derive a simple equation that allows me to calculate the angle of a sine wave at a particular voltage, to trigger a triac.

For example: say i am given a RMS voltage of 240V and I wish to find the angle at which the instantaneous voltage is 65V.

I know at 0pi the voltage is zero and at pi is 240*(sqroot2) or 339V. But how do i find the values in between?

Many Thanks

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hello,

Use the inverse sin function. Sometimes written as "asin(y)" or as "sin^-1(y)".

This is a multi valued function however so you have to know what quadrant you want the solution for.

So with a 339v peak you would do:

angle=asin(65/339)
for angle in radians, and another solution at angle2=pi-angle, or

angle=asin(65/339)*180/pi
for angle in degrees, and there will be another solution at angle2=180-angle.

Last edited:

cts_casemod

Joined May 14, 2013
Hello,

Use the inverse sin function. Sometimes written as "asin(y)" or as "sin^-1(y)".

This is a multi valued function however so you have to know what quadrant you want the solution for.

So with a 339v peak you would do:

angle=asin(65/339)
for angle in radians, and another solution at angle2=pi-angle, or

angle=asin(65/339)*180/pi
for angle in degrees, and there will be another solution at angle2=180-angle.

Thank you very much.
Is there also a simple expression to calculate the peak current when an inductor is present?

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Thank you very much.
Is there also a simple expression to calculate the peak current when an inductor is present?
Hi,

Well, it depends on what kind of waveform you expect to see with the inductor. If it is just a sine wave then it is simpler:
Ipk=Epk/(w*L)

where w=2*pi*f, f is the frequency in Hertz.

Are you working with sine waves (ie AC voltage) ?

cts_casemod

Joined May 14, 2013
Hi,