Emitter-Follower Amplifier Using A TIP120

elec_eng_55

Joined May 13, 2018
Hi Folks:

I am studying an Emitter-Follower Amplifier using a TIP120.
There are two things that I can't understand.

1) The Base voltage in the simulation and the real world
turns out to be 10.23 volts. If you use the voltage divider
calculation, it should be 11.51 volts. If you disconnect the
base of the darlington from the voltage divider, the voltage
divider does show 11.51 volts.

2) The output signal in the real world is riding on a negative
dc level instead of 0 volts. The first thing I thought of was
to replace the output coupling capacitor but that made no
difference.

I am perplexed. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

David

Attachments

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
The only possible way to get a base voltage of 11.51 V is if the gain of the darlington is infinite. It isn't. A quick look at the gain curves says it is around 1000 to 1200 at the probable collector current.

[EDIT] The average output voltage must be exactly zero. It cannot be otherwise. This does not mean that the midpoint between the peaks is zero volts.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

As @danadak told you, there are some internal resistors.
Even the values of the internal resistors can be different for other manufacturers.
ST shows this :
TIP120_internal_ST.png

Fairchild shows this :

TIP120_internal_Fair.png

Always check the actual datasheet.

Bertus

ebp

Joined Feb 8, 2018
The internal resistors really don't need to be considered. All that is required to get an idea of whether the predicted voltage at the base is reasonable is to look at the datasheet and do some very simple approximate calculations.

Suppose the base is fixed at 11.5 volts (all numeric values in the following should be considered to be approximate)
  • the emitter voltage would be at 10.2 volts due to the two Vbe drops between base and emitter
  • the collector current would therefore be 10.2/56 = 180 mA