Electric Vehicle, induction motor and >300Vdc?

Renesis

Joined Jul 14, 2009
Hello, long time lurker here.

I've got an old Honda MT5 moped with a blown engine lying around, and now im considering converting it to run of a battery.

I have some prior experience with motors and drives, but my experience with batteries and higher voltage DC systems is rather non-existant.

If anyone were to tell me that using a brushless motor operating on 48V is a very sensible option, i would agree. But i have a desire to use a common 230V 3ph induction motor, and an industrial VFD, because of reasons. A lot of VFD's will run happily on DC fed directly to its bus connections. However, this requires a lot more than 48V. I haven't checked any datasheets yet, but i can say for shure that the voltage required will be in excess of 300Vdc.

I dont know very much about Li-ion batteries yet, but it is my understanding that every single cell needs balancing in order to prevent over- and undercharging weak and strong cells. So i imagine a >300V, 100 cell li-ion battery managing unit as being a huge and complicated piece of hardware.

There is another option of course, i could use a 48V battery pack and a voltage converter. However, designing a converter that can handle 3-4kW both ways with minimal losses sounds like an even greater challenge, and i also need to consider weight and volume, as all of this needs to fit inside a small moped.

Now, im not asking anyone to design this project for me, thats my job. But i'd love some friendly brainstorming with you guys. In your opinion, which of the arcitectures mentionen above is more feasible? Is there anything i should be aware of, or have forgotten? Or do you perhaps have a better idea? i'd love to hear it.

Also, if anyone knows of any chips, datasheets or articles that could be of any help, be kind and point me to them.

Regards,
Torbjørn

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
You could try something in between.