Efficient DC-DC regulator (24v -> 19.5v)

wedwo

Joined Feb 11, 2020
I'm looking for an integrated component or basic circuit with high efficiency DC-DC regulator that will allow me to output 19.5v at 3.3 (or more) amps from a 24v battery. I could step up from 12v but I assume I'm going to get more efficiency with 24-> 19.5.
What should I be looking at? I'm a fan of the Tracopower range of converters: https://www.tracopower.com/products...converters/non-isolated-step-down-regulators/
I assume I'm not going to get away with a neat drop-in gadget like that, particularly at 3A+ output.
Any pointers would be appreciated....
Oh, I'm basically wanting to power my laptop (PSU is 19.5v 3.3a) for extended periods (4 hours) more efficiently than with an inverter based solution.
Thanks!

wedwo

Joined Feb 11, 2020
Thanks for the prompt response Eric! I was under the impression that a buck converter was not very efficient, but I'm a noob. *EDIT* seems I'm very much mistaken - I'm getting reports of 90% efficiency from Google :)
Am looking at using one of these goodies as the source:
1581409435315.png

https://www.omniflex.com/dsview.php?hid=C2197B
Anyone know of a similar product that possibly outputs variable voltage?

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi w,
They look a good quality unit, no idea of the cost.?
The eBay modules are inexpensive, depends on your budget.;)

E
Are you in RSA.?

wedwo

Joined Feb 11, 2020
hi w,
They look a good quality unit, no idea of the cost.?
The eBay modules are inexpensive, depends on your budget.;)

E
Are you in RSA.?
Quality is good, but yeah, price is a bit on the upper end... mouser is around $75 to me and RS locally I can get them for $40 which isn't the worst. Those buck converters look pretty decent and I can source locally.

*EDIT* found this:
https://www.diyelectronics.co.za/st...-converter-buck-in-45-32v-out-08-30v-12a.html

I am indeed from RSA :)

wedwo

Joined Feb 11, 2020
hi w,
That should get the job done.
Only 160Rand [ £18 GBP]