Discharging Capacitor Circuit

Cormac Champion

Joined Jul 28, 2016
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie so I need assistance please. I have created the following in my car. The idea is that the lamp will stay lit for a small period of time after the ignition is shut off. I have 6 x 2.7v 50F Super Capacitors in series and a 1k Resistor in Parallel. However, as you can see, the output voltage (after the Capacitors) while the ignition is turned on, is only 4.4v rather than just over 12v.

What have I done wrong ? Or what am I missing or how to I change things to get the desired result ?

I was under the impression that the voltage would only dropoff AFTER the power source was turned off.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
The capacitors should be in parallel with the lamp not in series.
You will need balancing resistors across each capacitor to equalise the voltage as the capacitances will not be exactly equal.
You will probably also need a resistor to limit the charging current when you switch on, else it may blow the fuse.
It should look something like this:
upload_2016-10-20_19-32-58.png

Cormac Champion

Joined Jul 28, 2016
What value resistor do I need to equalise each capacitor please ? And what value would R6 be in your diagram ?

I went with 6 caps since 5 x 2.7v would be slightly too few for when the car is running on the alternator

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
I need some numbers to be able to answer that.
Which capacitors are you using (so I can look up their specs)?
What is the wattage of the lamp?
What is the fuse rating feeding this circuit?

Cormac Champion

Joined Jul 28, 2016
2.7v - 50F
What is the wattage of the lamp?
Say 50w
What is the fuse rating feeding this circuit?
10A - running off the Car Radio feed

It actually not a lamp but a CarPC. But it's still under 50w

Last edited:

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
2.7v - 50F

This doesn't give me enough information.
Capacitance tolerance, leakage current, maximum charge/discharge currents.