Difference in circuitry of low and high pass filters

Juventus1994

Joined Nov 14, 2020
Hello folks,

I am an electronic student currently. in class we are learning about low and high pass filters.
I understand that in a low pass filters, the resistor is first and then the capacitor.
In a high pass filter, it is the capacitor first and then the resistor.
I'm trying to understand why there is this difference in circuitry.

I understand that low pass allow only frequencies to a certain point (frequency cut off) to pass through, and high pass only let certain high frequencies pass through but not low frequencies. I also understand that the higher the frequency, the low reactance (resistance) the capacitor has and vice versa. despite knowing this when I look at the circuit and have no idea why low pass has resistor first and then capacitor and vise versa for high pass.

If anyone can help me understand that would be much appreciated. I don't know if it makes a difference, bur we are using AC as the power source.

Audioguru again

Joined Oct 21, 2019
Why doesn't your teacher teach this simple stuff??

The resistor and capacitor make a voltage divider:
1) The lowpass filter capacitor conducts high frequencies to ground through the capacitor. The resistor passes low frequencies to the output.
2) The highpass filter capacitor blocks low frequencies but passes high frequencies to the output.

Delta Prime

Joined Nov 15, 2019
Hello there :)

Boy, I could be totally wrong I hope but... And I'm not trying to beat you up,I believe electronic principles and circuits maybe be beyond on your scope and only add to confusion. Your instructor put the cart way ahead of the horse. I admire your enthusiasm:)

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
An RC filter is a voltage divider as AG says.
1605399537441.png

Vout is a fraction of the input voltage Vin.