Designing a Sequential Circuit with two JK Flip Flops

saj1994

Joined May 21, 2016
Hi Guys,

Im studying for an electronics exam and I came past a question which I have started but finding it hard to finish.
The question is
Design a sequential circuit with two JK flip-flops, A and B, and two inputs, E and x. If E = 0, the circuit remains in the same state regardless of the value of x. When E = 1 and x = 1, the circuit goes through the state transitions from 00 to 01 to 10 to 11 back to 00, and repeats. When E = 1 and x = 0, the circuit goes through the state transitions from 00 to 11 to 10 to 01 back to 00, and repeats.

I have created the truth table which I have attached.

Im not sure How to get the equations to create the circuit.

Please help?

Attachments

hp1729

Joined Nov 23, 2015
Hi Guys,

Im studying for an electronics exam and I came past a question which I have started but finding it hard to finish.
The question is
Design a sequential circuit with two JK flip-flops, A and B, and two inputs, E and x. If E = 0, the circuit remains in the same state regardless of the value of x. When E = 1 and x = 1, the circuit goes through the state transitions from 00 to 01 to 10 to 11 back to 00, and repeats. When E = 1 and x = 0, the circuit goes through the state transitions from 00 to 11 to 10 to 01 back to 00, and repeats.

Please help?
So you have an up / down counter made with J-K flip flops and no clock pulse, just the E and x inputs?
Are other gates allowed?
Look at the design of other chips that are up / down counters.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Hi Guys,

The question is

Please help?
Your table looks good.

The next step is to make an excitation table in which you lay out all of the state variables and input variables as inputs and then list all of the needed outputs (with two JKFFs, you have four such outputs -- the J and the K for each FF).

After that it is simply a matter of determining the equation/circuit for each output.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012