Design of a PI compensator

newton01

Joined Dec 29, 2017
I started studying classical control at 2 months and my teacher spent an exercise to make a PI compensator of the open-loop transfer function attached, so that it has the following specifications. Ts2%= 2s; overshoot = 16% and overshoot at = 0.9s and Ess = 0
But how can I obtain the damping and natural frequency of a higher order system from the given specifications so that I can calculate the new dominant poles for it then I can calculate the zero of the compensator so that it has the necessary angular contribution?

obs .: initially I had followed the steps as if it were a second order system, but as you can predict the specifications were not reached, I even managed to find a good approximation with the help of Matlab but as this was not the purpose of the exercises I could not present in this way, the objective was to find the answers and prove mathematically the result, the aid of Matlab was at most to plot the root locus

Attachments

Last edited:

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi,

Are you trying to find a second order approximation from a third order system?
There are various ways to go about doing this, but it would be best if you show a block diagram of your final system even if you cant write in the gains for the feedback yet.

Some things in design are very straightforward, and some things are in the grey area where there are various ways to handle it. If you have been taught something about this in the past, then you should default to that way, but we can take a look at your system and see what we can find out.

Last edited:

newton01

Joined Dec 29, 2017