Decreasing RPM on induction motor while keeping torque the same

zazas321

Joined Nov 29, 2015
Hey Guys. I just wanted confirm if I understand it right. Lets say that I need 1000 Rpm and 10Nm torque. But I have got 3000Rpm motor with a torque of 10Nm at 3000Rpm. If I reduce the frequency by 3 times using variable frequency drive, that would decrease the RPM to 1000 but at the same time increase the torque to 30Nm. 30Nm may be even too high and the motor may stall.

Looking at the formula:
τ = (I * V * E *60) / (rpm * 2π)

What if I reduce the voltage by 3 times aswell. Would that keep the torque the same? For example instead of 230V ac I would have arround 80V AC. Is that how it works guys?

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
I am not a motor expert, but I recall that the T is equal the the HP times a constant(I can't recall).....divided by the RPM. At least they used to.

If that still works.....it means that to reduce RPM and keep same torque.......you need to increase HP.

But they keep changing everything now........they might have digital controllers to solve this.

We have motor experts on here...stick around and they'll chime in.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
If you reduce the speed, the motor output torque will essentially remain the same, but the motor output power will be proportionally reduced.

Last edited:

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
What becomes unfortunate is that it is more complicated than just reducing the frequency, because that changes the impedance of the windings and so the current changes as well. So the easy way to do it is to use a variable speed drive made for your kind of motor. If it is an induction motor things get complicated, but ifit is a series universal motor, the kind with brushes and a commutator, it gets a lot simpler.

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009