DC Motor with DPDT and Speed Control - Help Needed

Deleted member 966102

Joined Dec 31, 1969
I'm working on a machine that I need to help with my business. Essentially, I am looking for something that works similar to a VHS Rewinder / Fast Forwarder that has variable speed. See this video on Youtube for what I am trying to accomplish.

What I have been looking into is having two DC motors. Each engaged separately via a single DPDT toggle One rotates clockwise when engaged, the other counterclockwise when engaged. I think I have that part down, but I would like to have one speed controller that effects whichever motor is engaged at that time.

I was thinking that perhaps the speed controller would go between the power supply and the DPDT toggle, that way whichever motor is engaged would be affected by the controller. Not sure if this is correct or not.

I've love some help/advise on this. Maybe even a circuitry diagram if anyone feels so inclined. I'm new to this so trying to research this as I go. Thanks!

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
No mention of motor voltage and current? Then a matter of motor type? With the right motors rotational direction is just a matter of polarity. With the right motors PWM (Pulse Width Modulation) easily can control motor speed. This will always revert back to motor details which are unknown.

Ron

LowQCab

Joined Nov 6, 2012
Lots of "dead-space" in your video,
and no explanation of what "cleaning" means, ( does this mean "Bulk-Erasing" ? ).

Cleaning the Tape is not necessary, or advantageous,
cleaning the internal parts of the Play/Record-Machine with Alcohol
is "sometimes" advantageous after many hours of usage.

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018