Current Sink: LED Matrix

RavenerAbnorm

Joined Sep 2, 2015
Hi All,
I'm pretty new to electronics and I've recently taken up a project, a 32 X 8 RGB LED matrix. This will be driven by 3 LED ICs (namely the HT1632C) one for each colour with 256 RGB LEDs Common Anode.
On further experimentation I found that the IC is unable to drive the LED matrix on its own due to the common anode configuration and because I'd like to drive the LEDs with 20mA. Cue the current source/current sink issues.

Researching how to source and sink the current I found that I would need to source approximately 2 Amps to drive just one column of LEDs. 32 LEDs x 3 Channels x 20mA. I plan to use P channel MOSFETs for the 8 common lines for the matrix and I'm pretty happy my choice of MOSFET will work. However I am still a bit confused about the current sinking driver. So I decided to use the ULN2803. I understand MOSFETS would provide an advantage over darlington arrays. Due to space constraints I find the ULN2803 will be perfect.

So I've searched the internet and this forum and found examples of people working out the current requirements for sinking in the same configuration I'm doing. The problem is that I've seen people it do it different ways or arrive at an answer without explaining (maybe its very easy and I just haven't grasped it?) and I'd like just a bit of clarification

My question is

What is the max current an output of the ULN2803 will receive during operation of this matrix?

a) Any 1 output of the ULN2803 will need to sink 160mA current. 20mA x a possible 8 LEDs on at a time.
b) Any 1 output of the ULN2803 will need to sink 480mA current. 20mA x 8 LEDs x 3 Channels

If its a) then I should be OK and the thermal limitations would be within limits. (I think this is right)