creepage distance on components

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
This is my first time playing with high voltages and I want to do it properly, so here is my question:
Say you have this RSFJL diode in attachement, good for up to 600V. For a PCB material the creepage distance for 600V should be more than 3.2mm, but the diode has only 1.9mm between pins.
Do you take the manufacturers word that that distance is enough for years of having 600V across it, or do you take the required creepage into account and use somthing in a much larger package? And what CTI do you use for the creepage distance tables, when the manufacturer doesnt specify one?

https://www.ptr.eu/fileadmin/template/ptr/media/images/informationen/Kriechstrom_Tab_4_eng.jpg table with creepage distances

Attachments

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
This is my first time playing with high voltages and I want to do it properly, so here is my question:
Say you have this RSFJL diode in attachement, good for up to 600V. For a PCB material the creepage distance for 600V should be more than 3.2mm, but the diode has only 1.9mm between pins.
Do you take the manufacturers word that that distance is enough for years of having 600V across it, or do you take the required creepage into account and use somthing in a much larger package? And what CTI do you use for the creepage distance tables, when the manufacturer doesnt specify one?

https://www.ptr.eu/fileadmin/template/ptr/media/images/informationen/Kriechstrom_Tab_4_eng.jpg table with creepage distances
You need to take into account pollution degree, which is a function of the environment in which the circuit is intended to be used.

If you cannot meet the minimum creepage distances for specified pollution degree (regardless of component geometries), you must a) change the environment where the circuit is located so as to change the "local pollution degree" (i.e. sealed enclosures, air filters, etc.), or b) conformally coat your PCB.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005