Converting AC motor into a DC motor

spiritual juice

Joined Feb 3, 2024
Hello All,
First I must apologize to everyone for the fact that I am a carpenter and not an electronics or electrical engineer. My experience and knowledge come from my interest in disassembling everything to see what makes them work to researching and tinkering around the shop. My collection of toy motors to power tool motors is extensive and I am wanting to make use of the power tool AC motors and making eBikes, skateboards, scooters, Luxury Car/Truck golf carts and go carts as well as the one thing that is about to come to the public in mass production : Electronic Vertical Take-Off and Landing machines (EVTOL). My question is the following: can and will someone describe and explain how to modify an AC powered motor into a DC motor that can run off 1 or more cordless power tool batteries? I have watched videos but when try to replicate the project, it never seems to work.
I thank and appreciate any pointers or input given.
--- Anthony

<Mod: email deleted to avoid spammers>

Last edited by a moderator:

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
There are various types of AC motor. Some might convert ok, others not. What types do you have?
The 'universal' type of motor will work on AC or DC without modification.
the one thing that is about to come to the public in mass production : Electronic Vertical Take-Off and Landing machines (EVTOL).
I don't see that happening any time soon, if you mean passenger-carrying machines. Of course drones are already being produced.

Last edited:

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020
Powertool AC motors (which are uinversal motors) will also run off DC (as @Alec_t says). However, a power tool motor is not designed for efficiency, and has a rated life of only 500 hours.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Universal (brushed) series field motors operate in a run-away condition, i.e. RPM governed by load, they do however possess Very High torque under load.