Controlling DC motors with PC via PIC microcontroller

killerpiraat

Joined Feb 17, 2020
I work at a company that tests wiperblades for cars, trains, boats etc. They want to make a small testroom with 4 windows and 4 wiper motors, which can be controlled by 1 PC.
The PC will be used to select the speed of each individual motor, turn each motor on and off individually etc. etc. (not all motors are always used at the same time).

Since i have some experience with programming i decided i would take this task upon me, or at least try, instead of hiring an external company.

They want to be able to control all the motors via the PC in the room. I want to use a PIC microcontroller, which controls all the relays towards the DC motors.
There are some variables that the end user wants to change, depending on what kind of test he wants to run.
For instance: How long does the test have to run? Turn the wiperfluid on or off. High speed or low speed selection and some more.

My Question: How can i give input or signals from the PC to the PIC. The software that controls the motor will not be the problem, i just dont know how to make the connection between the PC and the PIC, so that the PC can give input to the PIC. What would your suggestion be on how to do this?
Myself i was thinking on some kind of .csv file where the user can enter some variables, but the next question is, if a test of wiper #1 have been running for an hour, and a new test is started on window #2, the test on window #1 should keep going, and not reset.

John P

Joined Oct 14, 2008
The easiest way to communicate from computer to PIC is via a USB-to-UART interface cable, which you can buy very cheaply from lots of vendors, including on eBay or AliExpress. Make sure that it's compatible with your version of Windows (assuming your PC runs Windows).