Complete noob stacked MOSFET question

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by Chiefrunningphist, Feb 23, 2019.

1. Chiefrunningphist

Thread Starter Member

Feb 22, 2019
    Hi, I'm pretty green, and had a question that I didn't even know how to search for.

I'm trying to PWM dim an LED circuit with a customizable voltage between (48v-250v) and up to a 650w total load.

The arduino board outputs @ 5v.

I'm attempting to use the arduino to drive an IRLZ44 switching a seperate 10v 500mA PS which drives an IR644 to PWM switch the final circuit (of up to 650w).

10V PS...
    Screenshot_2019-02-22-22-11-57~2.png

IRZL44...
    Screenshot_2019-02-22-22-05-23.png Screenshot_2019-02-22-22-07-23~2.png
    IRF644...
    Screenshot_2019-02-22-22-04-34.png Screenshot_2019-02-22-22-07-58~3.png

2. Sensacell

Jun 19, 2012
    Post a diagram of your proposed concept.

Hard to tell by what you wrote, but it sounds like you want to PWM the input of a power supply?
    That's not going to work.

Chiefrunningphist likes this.
  3. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    Welcome to AAC!
    LEDs are better dimmed by controlling the current through them rather then their supply voltage. Or does that voltage range refer to the time-averaged supply voltage, dependent on the PWM duty cycle?

4. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009

Huh? You are controlling a PSU to dim the LEDs? No need. Just apply PWM to your MOSFET that runs the LED.

Here is an example from a recent project. The MCU is connected to LED0- LED3. The cathode of the LEDs are connected to J*. Their anodes are tied together and connected to the supply voltage. PWNM is applied to LED0-4

upload_2019-2-23_8-52-1.png

5. Chiefrunningphist

Thread Starter Member

Feb 22, 2019
    Firstly, thanks for the replies.

I'm trying to make a circuit that can PWM dim different power supplies and circuit loads via a wide ranging MOSFET. Idk if this is correct thinking or not. :/